January 21, 2013

Christian Howes Solo With Orchestra

Christian’s programs for orchestra, string orchestra, and big band include repertoire from Jazz, Classical, and “Pops”.

In addition to his work with professional ensembles, he also offers programs for student ensembles which include educational workshops. For more info about student orchestra programs, click here: Residencies and Outreach

Full Orchestra and Soloist

– “Concerto for Jazz Violin and Orchestra” by Scott Routenberg is a three movement work evoking jazz and fiddle styles, somewhat reminiscent of Aaron Copeland and comparable to the Mark O’Connor fiddle concertos. (approximately 15 minutes)

-“Spain” – An excellent showcase for the strings and full orchestra. (10 minutes, Chick Corea jazz standard – arranged by James Anderson)

Classical Concerti

Lalo Symphonie Espagnole – 4th Movement – link to actual performance, part one (part two is below)
-Piazolla Four Seasons
-Vivaldi Four Seasons
-Bruch Violin Concerto

Below is part two of the Lalo Symphonie Espagnole – 1st Movement.



Solo With String Orchestra

-Several easy pieces by Bert Ligon are perfect for high school, youth and community orchestras. These pieces include Latin, swing, blues, rock, and funk arrangements which are easy to learn and enable students to assimilate these different styles.

-For more challenging level, Christian Howes has arrangements of some of his original pieces including, “Thank You for Teaching Us” (8 minutes, slow lyrical piece), “Conejiltrami” (6 minutes, minor blues with swing and rock elements), “E-Untitled” (5 minutes, a 4/4 rock tune with jazz elements and a drum solo in 11/4)

-“Bird with Strings” – original arrangements of Charlie Parker’s work with strings
-“Jazz” Winter (Vivaldi) – a jazzy version of the virtuoso classical piece

Big Band


Christian can also recommend additional arrangements, compose commissions, or work with your arrangements.

For additional repertoire, please email chris@christianhowes.com


For more examples of Christian Howes playing solo with a loop pedal:

     “Isn’t She Lovely” – Stevie Wonder

Please email tiffany@goodmanartists.com to inquire about more information and availability.

Paste your AdWords Remarketing code here